Leave A Legacy

 

LEAVE A LEGACY® is a public awareness program sponsored by the National Committee on Planned Giving to benefit all types of charitable causes and organizations. The purpose is to inspire people like YOU to make a charitable gift. People from all walks of life can "make a difference in the lives that follow" by leaving a charitable gift.

In Northeast Indiana, LEAVE A LEGACY® is promoted by the Planned Giving Council of NE Indiana through WRITE A WILL week. This is a series of events to promote awareness about the need to have a Will and the importance of giving to charity. Through the generosity of Partner organizations and volunteer attorneys, donors can meet with a lawyer and have a simple Will prepared for FREE if a bequest to a charity is included in the Will.

During the 2011 event, there were 142 Wills created during the Leave a Legacy Write a  Will events in northeast Indiana.  In these Wills, 135 charitable bequests were made!  Of these, 80% of the gifts were to local organizations.  Twenty Partners coordinated with 30 volunteer attorneys to achieve this success.   For more information, contact one of the committee members listed below.  Or click on these pages to learn more about Leave a Legacy in our area:

 

Leave A Legacy Committee Members

 

2014 Committee Members 
 

Margaret Sturm

Margaret.sturm@pnc.com

260.461.6218

 

Becky Weimerskirch

becky@ridectn.org

260.420.3407

 

Rob Patrick

patrickr@1stsource.com

260.969.2273

 

Richard Cummins

Richard@therescuemission.net

260.426.7357

 

Ann Hathaway

ahathaway@alz.org 

260.440.5547

 

Susan Berghoff

sbergoff@dwdcpa.com
260.424.4908 ext. 256

 

Melissa Shumaker

mshumaker@jacksonbrokerage.com

260.490.4233

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
LEAVE A LEGACY® is a national effort to inspire people from all walks of life and all income levels to think beyond their lifespan when doing good works. Imagine how much good could be done if each one of us remembered a favorite charity or cause in our will or estate plan. The impact would be immeasurable!